The Glory of Maradona

The moment of glory of Maradona in a World Cup was four years later, in Mexico, in 1986. It was the third World Cup followed that was celebrated in a Spanish-speaking country, previously they had been Argentina in 1978 and Spain in 1982.

The Argentine team won the title (the second in the last eight years), Maradona played an important role in the success of the team, was his captain and scored two historic goals, both against the English. In total Diego Maradona stood out five times, and also five times helped his teammates to stand out in the game. Eleven Mexican cities hosted the World Cup matches. Nine games were held in the main arena, Azteca with a capacity of 110 thousand spectators.

Argentina, the future winner of the tournament, was able to leave the preliminary stage without losing a game. The Argentines won twice and tied with Italy, which obtained the second result in the group. Among other victors of the first stage, the team from Morocco surpassed England, Poland and Portugal, while Denmark finished ahead of the German Federal Republic, Uruguay and Scotland.

However, in the playoffs they did not stay for long. In the first round, Argentina barely beat Uruguay with Pasculli goal and in the quarterfinals participated in a historic game against England. In the following years dozens of books, films and programs devoted to this game. Diego Maradona was the protagonist of the match. At first, he scored a goal with his hand (which was given by a mistake by Tunisian judge Ali Bin Nasser), and then in the 55th minute, he stood out for the second time. The first goal went down in history with the name of “Hand of God”, and the second was qualified as the goal of the century.

Diego eluded to five soccer players of the equipment of England (to one of them took two times), crossed like a wind the 60 meters and sent the ball to the networks of the rival. England could answer with a goal in the 81st minute, when Gary Lineker excelled.

In the semifinals Argentina beat Belgium 2-0 (Maradona was the author of the two goals), and the team of the Federal Republic of Germany could win with the same result to the French.

In the final, held on June 29, 1986, the Argentines could get the victory, but it was not easy. Brown and Valdano scored two goals for the Argentine team, but the Germans managed to take the rematch with two goals (Rummenigge and Voller).

However, in the 83rd minute Burruchaga scored the winning goal for Argentina. Diego was named the best soccer player of the Cup and Gary Lineker was named the best scorer.

The historic tournament, in the sporting sense, was also the place where a new form of support for the participating teams was born. For the first time fans began to form the famous wave, also known as the “Mexican wave”.

World 1986. Final
Argentina – West Germany

Argentina: Nery Pumpido, José Luis Brown, José Cuciuffo, Oscar Ruggeri, Ricardo Giusti, Julio Olarticoechea, Sergio Batista, Héctor Enrique, Jorge Burruchaga, Diego Maradona (C), Jorge Valdano (Substitution: Marcelo Trobbiani). Coach: Carlos Bilardo

West Germany: Harald Schumacher, Ditmar Jakobs, Karlheinz Förster, Hans-Peter Briegel, Thomas Berthold, Andreas Brehme, Norbert Eder, Lothar Matthäus, Felix Magath, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (C), Klaus Allofs (Substitutions: Rudi Völler, Dieter Hoeneß ). Coach: Franz Beckenbauer

Referee: Romualdo Arppi Filho (Brazil)

Result: 3: 2 (Brown 23 ‘, Valdano 56’, Rummenigge 74 ‘, Völler 81’, Burruchaga 84 ‘)

June 29, 1986

Azteca Stadium, Mexico City

114,600 spectators

Top scorers:

Gary Lineker (England) 6

Diego Maradona (Argentina) 5

Careca (Brazil) 5

Emilio Butragueño (Spain) 5

Posted on