Germans win, in Italy 1990

Everyone plays, but the Germans win

The 80s came to an end and the next World Cup was held in 1990 in Italy. For the last time in history the team of the USSR and two teams from Germany participated there. One of those, the West German team won the competition. In the next championship he played the unified country team.

Twelve stadiums in twelve cities in Italy offered their courts for the Cup matches. Reinforced security measures were taken to support the England national team matches, thanks to which the world learned about the phenomenon of “hooligans” fans. Both the Carabinieri and special military units were sent to guarantee public order in Cagliari, where England played in three matches.

There were several teams that achieved the impossible in the first-round matches: Cameroon, led by the Soviet coach, Valeri Nepómniaschi, took first place in their group, Romania and Costa Rica also came out of the playoffs. But until the semifinals only the great soccer powers came, the four were already world champions – Argentina, Italy, Federal Germany and England.

The final was held at the Olympic Stadium in Rome on July 8, 1990, and only scored one goal. The rivals were the same as four years earlier in Mexico, and the Germans of West Germany could take revenge, Breme scored the penalty goal at the end of the game, in minute 85. The tournament, which is often considered one of the least spectacular in history was followed by the US Cup. that in many aspects changed the world soccer.

World 1990. Final
West Germany – Argentina

West Germany: Bodo Illgner, Klaus Augenthaler, Guido Buchwald, Jürgen Kohler, Thomas Berthold, Andreas Brehme, Thomas Häßler, Lothar Matthäus (C), Pierre Littbarski, Rudi Völler, Jürgen Klinsmann (Substitution: Stefan Reuter). Coach: Franz Beckenbauer

Argentina: Sergio Goycochea, Juan Simón, José Serrizuela, Oscar Ruggeri, José Basualdo, Roberto Sensini, Néstor Lorenzo, Pedro Troglio, Diego Maradona (C), Jorge Burruchaga, Gustavo Dezotti (Substitutions: Pedro Monzón, Gabriel Calderón). Coach: Carlos Bilardo

Referee: Edgardo Codesal (Mexico)

Result: 1: 0 (Brehme 85 ‘(pen.))

July 8, 1990

Olympic Stadium, Rome, Italy

73,603 spectators

Top scorers:
Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) 6

Tomáš Skuhravý (Czechoslovakia) 5

Roger Milla (Cameroon) 4

Gary Lineker (England) 4

Míchel (Spain) 4

Lothar Matthäus (West Germany) 4

Posted on